ILA (I LOVE Acronyms)

Standard

IDK (I don’t know) about you guys but my world has been taken over by acronyms and I LOVE it! There are the traditionals: ASAP, LOL, AKA and the not-so-traditionals: LMAO (laughing my ass off), CYA (cover your ass), FOAF (friend of a friend) that save both text messaging characters and make it ten times easier to communicate your feelings.

So where did this communication phenom start and how popular is it?

As far as the English language is concerned, acronyms began in 1943. Nowadays they are used not only in Facebook posts, but also in various professional industries such as healthcare (ICU), entertainment (BBC), government (NATO), etc. No matter what ways you use them, it’s definitely part of the way we communicate. I even find myself having to double-check emails to others to make sure I haven’t slid a BTW or LOL to those that wouldn’t quite appreciate the lingo as much as I do. So whether you use them on a regular basis or not, there is no denying that the creativity and originality involved has NEIS (no end in sight).

TTYL and XOXO folks!

J

P.S. Did you know that ADCOMSUBORDCOMPHIBSPAC, a United States Navy term that stands for “Administrative Command, Amphibious Forces, Pacific Fleet Subordinate Command”, is the longest know acronym?

Leave a Reply

