He Sat Up and Took Nourishment….

Standard

I have found the last few days to a tornado of emotions and time has flown by so fast that I haven’t had time to process anything. This morning I was able to take the time to get ready for the day and think about my last few days with my grandfather, Gordon D. Gill, or as my sister and I refer to him as Poppy. I’d like o share a few of those moments now with all of you.

Monday when I got to the hospital was probably the worst I have seen him in the last couple of weeks he had been in ICU. He was in a lot of pain but was happy that I was there. The nurses helped with pain meds, which calmed him down, and he was able to have a meal. This is so important, because whenever I called my grandparents house for longer than I can remember, they would both get on the phone and of course I would ask Poppy how he was. EVERYTIME, and I mean every singe time he would say “Well I am able to sit up and take nourishment so things are ok.” We’d chuckle and then proceed to have our conversation. This became habit for us, and while at the time when I was feeding him on Monday (which he probably could have done by himself but I insisted) I wasn’t thinking it would be his last meal and the last time we got to have a conversation about life. When I reflect back now I think about how much that meant to me to be able to help feed him dinner and hold his hand that night until he went to sleep.

The next morning when my dad called to tell me I needed to come to the hospital and that he would probably only make it another one to three days–I was an emotional wreck. When I got there, the drugs had set in so he was fast asleep. Again I was able to hold his hand, while other family members were making calls and trying to get a hold of folks. He quickly passed away less than two hours later, and I was able to watch his take his last few breaths which was unbelievable. While this was highly emotional, I will not remember just the last two days I saw him, but rather the last 26 years that I was able to spend with him.

For many that knew him (or had heard about him through family and friends), they instantly fell in love. He was one on the nicest guys, who genuinely loved others and loved meeting new people. He told some of the best stories about growing up in the 20’s and 30’s and his time spent serving our country in World War II. He loved his wife, his family and every singe one of his friends and this is just a small piece of what I will remember about him.

Poppy--isn't he just too cute!!

Poppy- Kate and I love you, we will miss you, but we will never forget you!

XOXO

J

P.S. Thank you for reading this post. Writing means so much to me and has been a great way to express myself. This post is not meant to make anyone sad, rather share in how wonderful life is and how wonderful people are.

3 responses »

  1. Thinking of you & your family and am so sorry for your loss! Poppy holds a special place in my heart for sticking up for us to she who will not be named on an online forum for fear of legal consequences 🙂

  2. Jenny I was crying and smiling while I read this. Your Poppy was a wonderful man who made everyone feel loved when they were with him. We saw and knew how much your Poppy ADORED both you and Kate and we know the feeling was mutual.

  3. Jenny,
    Thanks for sharing poppy story! He always made me feel special when I saw him. He was truley was a ball of sunshine. I always saw him with a smile. He will be missed!! Love ya Buttercup!!!

    Angela

Leave a Reply

