So are the TOYS of Our Lives

Standard

Not only did the “Sand Through the Hourglass” of Days of Our Lives and Dylan and Brenda from 90210 shape my life, but so did some very significant toys. Specifically the popular Cabbage Patch Kids, the Bedazzler and who can forget my Easy Bake Oven!!!

In looking back at these items, each shaped my life in different ways. Let’s start with the Cabbage Patch Kid!! One summer

The one that got away 😦

my family (extended included), went on a trip to South Carolina (pretty sure the Hilton Head area), and on the way made a pit stop at the Cabbage Patch Kid Headquarters. Now for anyone who hasn’t been (and I’m sure that makes up about 95% percent of the males that read this), we are talking about a giant warehouse and gift store with every single Cabbage Patch you could ever imagine—24/7 all over the place! It was like I had died and gone to heaven. After a brief tour, we all gathered at the giant cabbage patch they had to watch a new “Kid” come to life—straight out of the cabbage. For a 5 year old this definitely seemed like a possibility and a reasonable way for a Cabbage Patch Kid to be born! Well of course “I had to have” the new Baby Cabbage Patch kid immediately and I’m pretty sure my family agreed to buy it for me so I didn’t have a meltdown in the middle of the store. But this was on one condition! I was being bribed into taking a picture on a giant rocking horse before they would buy the newborn “kid”. Well reluctantly and I mean VERY reluctantly I got on the damn horse and took the picture (I know this is probably hard for most of you to believe but taking pictures was not really my thing when I was little). After the picture was taken we made our way over to the register to make the BIG purchase and wouldn’t you know some old lady had just signed the papers and got the birth certificate (yea this was the real deal) of the “kid” I had wanted. Why you are probably asking yourself do I remember this? Well because it has scarred me for life. Now everything must be in writing. And I mean everything! When I decided I wanted my Dad to buy me my first dog (at the ripe old age of 9) you better believe I had it written in yellow highlighter on green construction paper, signed and dated. After the cabbage patch kid debacle I couldn’t be having any of that drama-rama anymore.

This is where all the madness took place!

Now on to the Easy Bake Oven! I think it has definitely played a huge part in my life now because I LOVE to bake. It’s a stress reliever for me and anything with sugar and chocolate makes me happy. I used that Easy Bake Oven like it was going out of style and even had to order more cake mix and baking pans as they wore out. This was a sign of pure dedication and now it has become a part of my life. And if I do say so myself my baked muffins, cakes and breads are pretty freakin’ good nowadays! I’m just sayin’….

And finally the Bedazzler! While most of my friends are VERY crafty, I can honestly say that the whole Martha Stewart-crafty business is not my forte. But this didn’t stop me from having a bedazzler and bedazzling everything from blue jean hats and purses to hot pink and blue shirts. While this item was short-lived in my life (like I said I’m not craft-maven), it played a significant role in my fashion choices and now provides a few giggles when I look back at photos of me in my many bedazzled pieces.

A TRUE Bedazzling Queen!

Would love to hear from you about your FAVE toys of all time!

XOXO

J

3 responses »

  1. Oh no, not the easy bake oven! Melissa never got one and she still reminds me of it every Christmas when they are everywhere! I was just covinced that that lightbulb in the oven would pose some kind of danger.

  2. Loved the story about the Cabbage Patch doll. I had never heard that. You know, I dont think I ever got a cabbage patch doll..so sad!!

Leave a Reply

