Warm Milk…Does it really work?

Standard

So it’s 1 o’clock in the morning local time and I can’t sleep! Not only can I not sleep right now but I have probably only gotten about one hour’s sleep total since I attempted to go to bed, and I have to be awake and ready to run 12 miles in in less that 5 hours from now. Yea not cool man-not cool at all! Why do you have to run 12 miles you may ask? Well I guess technically I don’t HAVE to, but two weeks from today I have the Women’s Half-Marathon in Downtown Nashvegas, and technically this

Looks incredibly uncomfortable yet peaceful!

should be my last long run before the BIG day, so it would be nice to get it in. Yet I am not even close to being tired and while I know they say a glass of warm milk does the trick for most folks, the thought of that makes my stomach hurt. I like my milk nice and cold thank you!

Do any of you out there have any tricks to this madness? I actually have done this before–about 8 months or so ago. I couldn’t sleep a full night and would normally wake up about 2:30am and not go back to bed until about 5am (with the alarm preset to a 6:15 curtain call). I did this for a couple of weeks and I’m pretty sure I scared all the little kids I passed on a daily basis with my big, puffy eyes. Luckily insomnia didn’t seem to set in and medication wasn’t necessary, and I started to enjoy sleeping without interruption again, much to my husband and Rocco’s liking. Yup even dogs seems to start getting irritated at you when you disturb them in their sleep. Geesh! Right now Rocco kind of has this look in his eyes like “what the hell is wrong with you?”, so on that note I’ll say good night (hopefully) and see you tomorrow…err I mean later today! XOXO

J

Leave a Reply

