“Uh Jen, what’s wrong with your lips?”

Standard

Yes, unfortunately this has been a question that I was faced with not too many years ago after a beautiful day in the Florida sun. You see each year, my hubby and I and some friends make a visit to Destin during a long Memorial Day weekend. It’s TONS OF FUN! What’s better than the beach, the pool, hot weather, wave runners, shopping, and pina coladas?

So needless to say the first year we went, this beach bunny was sitting out in the sun the first opportunity I got. Well I didn’t realize my lips were soaking it up as much as my skin. I’m a big Lip Smackers user so I’m constantly applying and reapplying throughout the day. Who knew it didn’t have any SPF to help block the rays? So when I woke up the next morning, my husband looked at me and said in a frightened tone, “Oh crap, Jen-What’s wrong with your lips?” Let’s just say they rivaled Angelina Jolie’s in size-top and bottom! I do not lie when I say that trying to push them together was a challenge. I, of course, immediately panicked and wondered what the hell to do. I figured ice would work but guess what? That not only made them larger, but it also made them go numb so I couldn’t even feel where to put the ice.

Get the picture?

Of course the crew I traveled with thought this was the funniest thing they had ever seen, and I had to beg and plead not to have photos taken. Luckily, there are no photos of the incident-or at least any I know about. I had to stay out of the sun for 24 hours, but finally found out from my nurse mom that I had sun poisoning in my lips. The swelling went down and I took all necessary precautions to have this happen again.

I had a little scare the last week when we went for our annual trip and woke up the second morning with the familiar tingling sensation in my lower lip. Luckily, the puffiness was nothing like the first time and I made sure to put SPF 50 on immediately!

Got any crazy, interesting or embarrassing beach stories to share? I can’t be the only one!

XOXO

J

Leave a Reply

