Why Woody?

Standard

Hey all- I know it’s been FOREVER since I last wrote…MAJOR apologies for that! Just had a lot going on I guess( I think they call it LIFE), and writing a blog post started sinking lower and lower on my list of things to-do, which is not a good excuse but an excuse nonetheless. Anyways, hope all has been well on your home front as it has mine (I’ll debrief on the happenings of the last 6 months another day). Just got back from the annual Memorial Day (shout out to all the service men and women) trip to Destin and had a BLAST as usual!

There is something to be said about the sand, surf, sun and those yummy drinks that come with a baby umbrella in them! I absolutely love my time in Destin each year, and always get super pumped when the end of May hits. But enough about me.:-)

Another common occurance now for two years running has been the sighting of former Vanderbilt Head Football Coach, Woody Widenhofer, working the toll booth as you cross over the bridge from Niceville (how NICE) to Miramar Beach. Last year, as we drove up I mentioned how I had heard on the local sports talk radio that the former SEC coach was now supposedly working as a toll operator in FL and “how funny it would be if we saw him”, and low and behold BOOM Woody Widenhofer takes our $3 and sends us on our merry way. My mouth literally dropped and I was speechless (which is quite hard for me just FYI). My initial thoughts were “you have got to be shi**ing me?” How could a former Defensive Coordinator for the Steelers and Head Coach for Vandy (albeit the latter probably doesn’t hit home to as many of you as it does me) work as a toll booth operator? Is this even possible?”

Ladies and Gents I’m here to tell you anything is possible, cause guess what? Fast forward to this year and you guessed it–Woody takes our $3 dollars and tells us to have a great day (even calls my husband “sir”). Really? Really! This is happening and the ironic part about it-he genuinely seems happy! Granted he works 10 minutes from the beach so that makes almost anyone happy, but he truly seems to be a happy semi-retired aged man, and why shouldn’t he be right? He doesn’t have to worry about newspaper columnists slinging his name in the mud, or fans pointing the finger at him when things go wrong on the gridiron. As a matter of fact, now that his coaching days are over, I would imagine he is the happiest he has ever been.And that my friends makes me happy!

Irving Berlin once wrote- “Life is 10 percent what you make it and 90 percent how you take it” I couldn’t agree more!

Toodles and I PROMISE to write more often!

XOXO

JV

Leave a Reply

