My Fo’ Real OIympic Moment

Standard

Hey peeps- I don’t know about you, but when the Summer Olympics come rolling around every four years I jump for joy! I can remember it starting back with the Atlanta Olympics in 1996. I was awkward 13 year-old with nothing to do during the late summer months, and organized a backyard Olympic of sorts with all the neighborhood kids! We had a “official” professional walk down the street  to a clearing in the ‘hood, with signs and banners of our teams, and partipated in relay races, jumping bag competitions, a horseshoe toss, and other “highly” competitive events. and I don’t use the term competitive loosely! Imagine 15 kids between the ages of 10-13 vying for a shot at backyard Olympic gold?!?!? It got ugly at times!

Anyways, who knew then that 16 years later I would be competing against myself in a sprint triathlon onImage the banks of Lake Chickamauga in Chattanooga, TN. Why competing against yourself you may ask? Well I set a goal/New Years Resolution for 2012 to compete in my first sprint tri which I did in May (Cedars of Lebanon-great tri for beginners), and got the urge to do another one, hence the SportsBarn Chattanooga Sprint Tri this last weekend. SportsBarn however would deal me a different deck of cards in that it was double the distance to swim (which I am not very strong at), and low and behold it was in open water, not a pool (which is what I was use to training in). I figured given the extra swim distance and my fear of algae-filled water, I may get it done in 1 hour and 15 minutes. Well guess what? I found out this morning that I set my own personal record in 1 hour 2 minutes! Woo hoo!

Just call me Michelle Phelps…BOOM!

XOXO

JV

Leave a Reply

